SchoolsPlus has sites at all eight school boards

SchoolsPlus is starting at sites in all eight school boards in the province: 

  • Annaplois Valley Regional School Board
  • Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board
  • Chignecto-Central Regional School Board
  • Conseil scolaire acadien provincial
  • Halifax Regional School Board
  • South Shore Regional School Board
  • Strait Regional School Board
  • Tri-County Regional School Board 

Each school board has chosen a group of schools as a starting place for developing the model. Each of the eight boards has a SchoolsPlus facilitator and SchoolsPlus Community Outreach Workers. They are the liaison between the school and the community. Their job is to advocate, co-ordinate, and expand services for students and families. They will help families navigate the system and get the services they need.

Each of the school boards have established a SchoolsPlus Advisory Committee with representation from government departments (Health and Wellness, Education, Community Services, and Justice), the Child and Youth Strategy, and non-government and community organizations. The purpose of the committee is to identify opportunities to enhance and expand the array of services and programs for children, youth, and their families.